(WICHITA, Kan.) — Beginning January 1st law enforcement officers in Kansas will begin writing tickets for texting and driving.
Although the law went into effect July 1st, drivers have only been given warnings.
The ticket is $60.00 plus court costs. In Sedgwick County the ticket and court costs will cost you $155.50.
The Kansas Highway Patrol and Wichita Police Department both acknowledge potential challenges enforcing the new law. Officers say it will be difficult to determine whether a person is dialing or texting.
The highway patrol says the tickets will likely be issued with other violations such as “failure to maintain a lane.”
Wichita police say the new law will likely be challenged in court.