(WICHITA, Kan.) — It has been a problem for weeks, long lines and long waits at county tag offices.
The delays have happened because of problems with the state's new $40 million computer system for tags, titles and drivers licenses. Last month the state announced a grace period for recently expired tags. Factfinder 12 found out, it does not cover everything you think.
Last month the Kansas Department of Revenue issued a statement saying it has "coordinated with Kansas law enforcement" to allow people with tags that expire May 31 to be granted a grace period through June 29; old cardboard 30 day permits can be displayed through June 29, and 30 day permits expiring in May will be given a grace period through June 29.
On the KWCH 12 Eyewitness News Facebook page, Becky Greene says she went to the Saline County tag office and was told it was not honoring the grace period. She says she was told "if you come in after your tags are expired, you will be charged penalties". According to the Kansas Department of Revenue, that is accurate.
State revenue spokesperson Jeanine Coranda says the grace period is only an agreement with law enforcement. She says the grace period means the Kansas Highway Patrol and other police and sheriff's organizations have agreed not to ticket people with certain expired tags.
Coranda says this grace period does not necessarily extend to county tag offices. She says those offices make their own decision, and could implement a grace period, or could still charge penalties for expired tags. It may depend on location, as offices with smaller customer volume may not have experienced the same delays as busier offices.